Your Friends Can Now Find Out If You’re On Tinder

No more secretive swiping

The new Tinder Social feature

On Wednesday, Tinder started testing a new feature called Tinder Social, which allows groups of friends to match with other groups for “a fun new way to meet new people out with your friends”. To use it, you have to create a group with your friends, and then swipe through other groups rather than individuals.

Here comes the problem: In order to form a group on Tinder, the app will show you a list of your Facebook friends – which also means they might find out that you’re using the app. Not great news if you have exes, old teachers, or your mum as Facebook friends.

Although the feature is only being tested in Australia for now, there has already been an outpouring of angry rants among users. This has appeared to be duly noted by the company, who published an update on its blog to clarify that users can opt out of being added to groups (although it means that the feature is automatically switched on, which is still problematic).

Hopefully, Tinder will rethink the details of this feature before launching it on a wider scale. 

Photo: Tinder

For more on Living, head here. Or check out 10 Foodstagrams To Check Out Now and The Japanese Set Lunch You Need To Try This Weekend.

Report a Problem