5 Celebrity-Approved Ways To Take The #NoMakeUp Selfie

Embrace your natural beauty

1 Chasing The Light
11 Apr 2016

1 Chasing The Light

It’s all about lighting, baby! Even professional photographers swear by the “magic hour” – roughly the first hour of light after sunrise and the last hour before sunset. The soft, diffused light during these intervals will make your complexion glow in pictures – no BB creams required. 

Photo: Joan Smalls via Instagram @joansmalls

1 Chasing The Light
11 Apr 2016

1 Chasing The Light

Photo: Park Shin Hye via Instagram @ssinz7

1 Chasing The Light
11 Apr 2016

1 Chasing The Light

Photo: Jennifer Lopez via Instagram @jlo

2 Monochrome Magic
11 Apr 2016

2 Monochrome Magic

Use the black and white filter to disguise uneven skin tone, dark spots and other imperfections. There’s a reason why so many photographers still insist on shooting black and white pictures today – the monochromatic style is extremely versatile, and works well whether you’re going for a stylish mood-shot or a timeless, retro look.

Photo: Rihanna via Instagram @badgalriri

2 Monochrome Magic
11 Apr 2016

2 Monochrome Magic

Photo: Gwyneth Paltrow via Instagram @gwynethpaltrow

3 Cute Props
11 Apr 2016

3 Cute Props

Pose with your adorable pup or kids – everyone will be too busy oohing and aahing over their cuteness that they won’t be able to notice any imperfections of your sans-makeup look. 

Photo: Chrissy Teigen via Instagram @chrissyteigen

3 Cute Props
11 Apr 2016

3 Cute Props

Photo: Alessandra Ambrosio via Instagram @alessandraambrosio

3 Cute Props
11 Apr 2016

3 Cute Props

Photo: Vanessa Hudgens via Instagram @vanessahudgens

4 The Hand-On-Chin
11 Apr 2016

4 The Hand-On-Chin

Don’t have any pets or babies? Use your hands! Casually prop your chin with a hand to achieve a natural-looking selfie without looking like you’re trying too hard. This is also a great way to hide that zit on your cheek! 

Photo: Gisele Bundchen via Instagram @giseleofficial

4 The Hand-On-Chin
11 Apr 2016

4 The Hand-On-Chin

Photo: Selena Gomez via Instagram @selenagomez

5 Bed Head
11 Apr 2016

5 Bed Head

Even messy, out-of-bed hair can be sexy if you know how to work it – keep your tresses loose and voluminous, which helps to frame your face and make it look smaller. Take it up a notch with a come-hither gaze for the ultimate win!

Photo: Gigi Hadid via Instagram @gigihadid

5 Bed Head
11 Apr 2016

5 Bed Head

Photo: Beyonce via Instagram @beyonce

For those of us who are not brave enough to attempt Kim Kardashian's naked selfie, how about starting with a #NoMakeUp version? Click through above for celebrity tips to help you become a bare-faced beauty. Remember: If all else fails, you can always count on photo-enhancing apps like BeautyCam and MeituPic!

For more living stories, head here. Or check out This Is The Video Everyone Is Talking About and 10 Celebrity Siblings You Probably Didn't Know About.

Report a Problem